A day of Nope.

It’s not often that I get the opportunity to spend half of my day at home. Between work, chores, errands and working out, around 80% of my time is spent elsewhere.

I’m okay with this. I’m good at being busy. I’m good at getting stuff done. Checking things off the list is one of my specialties. Very rarely do I just sit.

But today I sat.

I did not run. I did not go to the gym. I did go to work. But afterward I did nothing.

A couple of weeks ago, I saw on our huddle chart that someone had talked about taking care of yourself. I was not there that morning, but it did start me thinking.

I am self sacrificing to a T. I will do almost anything for anyone (within reason). This is one of my greatest attributes, and also one of my greatest flaws. It means that I often put myself aside. I’m not saying this to brag, but stating it as fact. I know it is one of the best and worst things about me. I don’t often say no.

It’s easy to take care of others. It’s not so easy to take care of one’s self.

So today I reveled in it – the opportunity to just be. To sit on the couch. To read a book. To not answer e-mails. To not be so connected with the internet world.

Tomorrow I will be back to the usual running around. To the cleaning, and shopping, and running, and doing.

But today was a much needed day of “nope.”

Leave a Reply

