Challenging Myself

Today was a challenge – a challenge in finding motivation, as well as a challenge in the running routine.

With Run Streak having ended, and Marine Corps Marathon not coming up until October, I feel like I’m drifting a little bit. And that translates to the real world as well.

With motivation lacking, I find myself not wanting to do some of the things that need to get done around the house. I find myself desiring to sit on the couch instead of cleaning the kitchen, or sweeping the floors, or folding the laundry.

It’s funny, because I like having these things done. I’m much more comfortable in my home when everything is orderly. I start to get frustrated and despondent when things are not as they should be. Which just perpetuates the cycle of not wanting to get them done.

I was actually looking forward to my run this evening. To having the group to motivate me to get this run in and done, if only I had that group to motivate me at home.

Tonight was a tempo/hill workout. Tempo/hill as well, there were both involved. Tempo up the hills. Tempo down the hills. Tempo all around. It was tough, but I like to push myself – to issue a challenge.

So now I’m issuing a challenge to me here – I will begin to get things done, to make myself happy again. I will complete my workouts, and I will get my house in order.

This is my way of pushing myself – of challenging me to get it done, and do it well. I will make my lists again, I will check things off.

Tomorrow is a new day, and it begins from null. Make it worth it.

Leave a Reply

