Making Things Up

Run Streak has officially been over for two days now and I’ve found myself lacking in motivation. I’ve found that I should have just kept it going, I should have run Sunday, I should have done something.

Today, I was just not in the mood to get up and get moving. I felt sluggish, tired, blah. So, instead of making it to a class at the gym, I went and paddled around in the outdoor pool with my husband (and about gajillion small children). It was fun. It was at least sort of relaxing. But it was not a real workout.

Of course, by the time I got home from work this evening, I was feeling pretty bad about that. One should never miss a Monday after all.

So I made up my own routine, left husband to make dinner (thank you, Dear!), and headed out to the back yard.

I can tell you, that I did not go easy on myself; That I would not let myself down. I can tell you that I’ve been learning a lot from classes, and I can tell you that humidity makes things tougher.

So, for all of you looking to make up your own workout here’s what  you do:

Pick exercises that are simple, pick things that you know. Lunges, Squats, Pushups, etc. All effective, all simple to remember how to do. It doesn’t have to be complicated to be effective.

Write it down! I found that this was essential. When I started getting tried, I began to forget my order. So being able to refer to the nice white board was crucial to continuing on. You don’t have to have a white board, use a piece of paper, or whatever is easiest for you.

Find space, an even surface is best. I found that I had to keep moving my little yoga mat around because I kept rolling to one side or another when doing exercises that required me to lay down. If you are outside, find level ground if that’s at all possible. Inside may have been easier, but we don’t have AC, and as I said before, it was about a million percent humid tonight, so I dealt with the uneven surface.

Make it fun. Listen to music that motivates you. Push yourself, find ways to mix it up. Just enjoy it. There’s no point in being miserable doing something that you don’t HAVE to do.

This is what I made up for myself tonight.

In sets of 10:
Squats
Plyo Lunges
Pushups
Tri Dips
V ups
Bicycles (10 each leg – 20 total)
Burpees

It was pretty darn effective. It took me about 30-35 minutes to get through, with little breaks between sets. I did 100 total of each exercise. Yes, you read that right, 100 burpees, of my own volition. I chose to do them.

So, if you don’t have a gym, can’t find time to get to the gym, or just plain don’t want to leave your house – make something up! I promise you won’t regret it.

Workout

Leave a Reply

