Happy 4th

Happy 4th of July to one and all!

Today marked the end of my Run Streak. For the last 41 days, I ran at least a mile per day. It’s kind of iconic that Run Streak ends today, as 3 years ago on this day, I ran my first official 5k.

I’ve come so far since then, and done so much more. And I’m not finished yet.

Today, I ran 8 miles with my group, and then worked up the nerve to jump in the 50 degree water of Lake Michigan afterward. Because why not? Because it was invigorating. Because I am lucky to be here, and was fortunate to be there on such a calm, beautiful day.

11001593_10101099099328337_3067377171201925822_o

Tonight I am grateful to live in one of the greatest nations on the Earth. I am grateful that I do not have to be covered from head to toe, that I have the freedom to speak my mind, and that I have the freedom to run.

Tonight I am grateful that I am who I am, and that I was born where I was – in the USA, the land of the free because of the brave.

As the pops and bangs and sizzles continue to sound around my house, I am grateful for all of you. For all of you who make this nation great, for everyone who sacrifices to make America what it is. For the freedom to dance, and sing, and to run – thank you.

Good night, America. And a Happy Independence Day to you all.

10857140_10203354056170991_8005275069832041292_o

Leave a Reply

