Taco Tuesday!

I’m really bad at meal planning. I try so hard to get ideas together for the week. But I do have at least one guarantee: Every Tuesday we have Tacos.

How could you not love delicious, healthy, spicy things wrapped in the perfect tortilla vessel.

So tonight, you get my Taco “recipe.” And yes, that’s “recipe” in quotes, because it’s very general, and I tend to just throw things together. Sorry I don’t have any fancy pictures to go along with it. But I think you all know what this stuff looks like. So, here goes.

– 1 can black beans (I’m vegetarian, so this is what I use for protein,  you can also use ground turkey or beef).
– spices: cumin, chili powder, garlic salt, paprika, coriander, oregano, cayenne (if desired)
– Lettuce, Tomato, avocado, Cheese of choice (Cheddar and Colby Jack are our favorites)
– Salsa!
– Tortillas (We like Tortilla Land tortillas. They come uncooked, and have fewer chemical ingredients than most other packaged tortillas).

Really simple things make great meals. I always drain and rinse the beans. And then add the spices. About 1 tbsp cumin and chili powder, and 1 tsp of everything else – but there’s really no strict amount. You like the flavor of coriander a lot? Use more! The spices are the most important part. They’re what gives the entire taco their flavor.
I cover the beans/spices with water, stir, and set on the stove to simmer. They can simmer for as long as you’d like. The longer they go, the more flavor they have.

Assembling tacos is pretty self explanatory – hopefully you’ve got your tomatoes, lettuce and avocado chopped. I hope that’s a given. I feel like everyone has their own order for building. So have at it and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

