10 Running Related Personal Questions

So I’ve begun to think about how I would interview someone about their running life. I’d like to do so while on the run, but I realize that might bit a bit difficult. I think I’m going to try it. It’s going to be a Saturday thing.

I was thinking about this as I was vacuuming at work the other day. We have so many incredible people in our running community, and so many inspiring stories. I’d be honored to share even just a few. I hope to begin this process this coming Saturday.

As I was thinking, I began to wonder what questions to ask. And I thought of a few of my own, but also decided that I might try to Google search for some more ideas, and that’s when I found this: 10 Running Related Questions Personal Questions from Another Mother Runner.

And I thought it’d be fun to answer them myself. So here it goes:

1. Best run ever: I don’t even know where to begin. I’ve had a lot of good runs, but I think I can qualify the best run ever as one that took place in Marquette, Michigan. My husband and I were up there visiting friends and I was training for my first half-marathon and 25k with the training group. I was set to do 9 that weekend. I thought it would be awesome to run along the lake shore in February. So I set out on a cool, brisk day (the temperature was -2 before windchill), and ran one of the most epic runs I have ever had. The span of path that I followed runs right along Lake Superior, which was appropriately frozen that time of year. I ran around Presque Isle (and stopped in a public restroom to thaw out a bit). I just remember being so struck by the beauty of my surroundings. I still miss that path.

2. Three words that describe my running: Joyful, Fun, Corgi-like

3. My go-to running outfit is: A pair of CW-X 3/4 length compression tights, Smartwool Socks, and whatever INKnBURN top fits my mood that day.

4. Quirky habit while running: This is something I was just discussing on Saturday. We all have our own quirky little things. Mine happen to be turn around points. There’s a route from my house that is just over a mile, and when I run it, I have to touch the red part of the sidewalk before I can turn around. There are other points like this as well on other routes that I run often.

5. Morning, midday, evening: Evening. I’m not a morning person. I go Midday when I can, but I usually prefer evening (especially if I can run while the sun is setting).

6. I won’t run outside when it’s: There’s almost no time that I won’t run outside. Lightening storms are one time when I typically won’t go out, but almost nothing else deters me. Rain, nor snow, nor sleet, nor ice.

7. Worst injury—and how I got over it: I’ve only been running for 3 years, and I’ve yet to have an injury that has taken me out completely (knock on wood). As of right now, the inner part of my right knee hurting for no apparent reason has been the worst thing to happen.

8. I felt most like a badass runner when: I finished the Wisconsin Marathon, and turned around and ran the Kalamazoo Marathon the next day – and finished it in under 5 hours.

9. Next race is: Lake Shore Miracle Run on July 11. The toughest race you’ll ever love. A trail run, a beach run, and a run up a sand dune all in one. What more could a girl ask for?

10. Potential running goal for 2016: That’s a long time away. I think a good goal for me is just sticking to two marathons a year, and trying to get faster for them. I’m doing better at that this year, but I’ll still have 3 under my belt by the end of it. I want to improve. I’m still chasing that elusive (to me) sub 4 hour time. If I don’t get it this year, next year will be the year to do it.

I’m hoping to ask my fellow runners some of these questions, as well as having some organic conversation with them. I hope it will be as fun for them and for you as it is for me.

Leave a Reply

