Leelanau I’m in Love – How Not to Slack on Fitness When on Vacation

We are officially here, on the beautiful bay of Sutton’s Bay, Michigan. Albeit, the beautiful bay was somewhat gloomy and overcast today, but that didn’t stop us from enjoying a walk along the beach.

We also got to enjoy the wonderful Traverse City Art and Wine Festival. There were many people meandering around large white tents, some filled with art, some filled with various wines from many different wineries around the Leelanau and Mission Peninsulas. We had a lot of fun walking around, tasting different wines, eating phenomenal food (vegan paella, Yummmm), and listening to the bands.

11411767_10101086425486817_586525633292592232_o

Anyway, even though I am not at home, and not on a normal schedule, I am not letting it derail my goals and the challenges I have set forth for myself. After this afternoon’s activities, I made time to get in my long run for the weekend. I was supposed to do 6 miles with my group this morning, so I did 6 on my own here.

There’s this incredible trail that stretches all the way from Sutton’s Bay to Traverse City called the TART Trail. It is a beautiful, peaceful path. I saw many birds, and heard many more. I also heard frogs in the ponds, wind rustling the leaves on the trees, and small creatures skittering out of the way at the side of the path. There was a large Tall Ship in the harbor. As I was running past, they were in the process of taking in the large, crimson sails. Though it was cloudy, the water was calmer, and the lake reflected the clouds. I love seeing new places on foot.

10358868_10101086686823097_1770452544717181573_n

I think that’s one thing you have to realize when you go out of town – that the best way to explore the area is by going for a run (so long as the area you’re in is safe). Get off that hotel treadmill and get outside. The world is waiting! Go explore! Go to a local running shop and ask for directions to a good trail or route. Take a short drive and see if there are good sidewalks around you. Stop making excuses and get out and see what there is to see. You never know what you might miss by running inside – or not running at all.

Another thing that to realize is that you have to make time for fitness, even and especially on vacation. It’s so easy to get off track – to think that this is rest time and time away. But if you let it go too long, it’s more difficult to get back to it once you return to daily life. For me, doing run streak right now, I need to keep going. I need to make the time to run the miles, or else I am going to be disappointed in myself – not a good result!

And lastly, packing appropriately helps. Making sure to lay out all of the clothing you’re going to need – wicking shirts, shorts/pants, socks, shoes, bra (ladies). If you have everything with you, it’s more difficult to make excuses not to go. I’ve lugged this gear 3.5 hours from my home, I’m going to use it. That’s my mentality, anyway.

So there you have it – my plan for not getting off track while I’m away. Explore (I want to find some awesome hills since they are available to me up here – doesn’t that sound sick?), make time for it, and I most definitely packed my entire wardrobe (ask my husband, he always rolls his eyes when he sees my side of the suitcase, and how many pairs of shoes I am packing).

Vacations are restful, relaxing, and runful. I am enjoying this time so far to the fullest.

Leave a Reply

