A 30 day Challenge

Last night, we had our usual every-other-Wednesday meeting at work.

This was not an entirely ordinary meeting, however. Yes, most of it was business related, but at the end, our managers had us watch this TED Talk: http://www.ted.com/talks/matt_cutts_try_something_new_for_30_days?language=en
If you don’t have the 3 minutes to sit down and watch it, it boils down to this: try something new for 30 days – something you have always wanted to do, something that you want to become habit.

They then posted a sheet in our break room, challenging us to find something that we want to accomplish daily for the next 30 days. It can be simple, or it can be a monstrous challenge.

So, here’s mine: I want to start writing again. It’s something I’ve been meaning to do, something I’ve been meaning to get back to. I miss writing prompts, I miss the creative outlet, finding the right words, figuring things out on my own. I haven’t been dedicated enough.

My goal is to write something cohesive once a day for 30 days. It may be running related, it may not be. It may be just daily life, or it may be a fiction or non-fiction piece. I don’t have a set word count, I feel like that would be too restrictive. I’m doing this for me. If I’m going to claim writing as a #besomebody passion, I need to start making it a priority.

I will try to put things up here as they come.

Just the act of sitting down to do something like this is a momentous occasion for me. It’s been a struggle to even sit down and type anything lately. Which is my sorry excuse for why this site has been so neglected. I mean, the title after all is Running and WRITING and Life. So far, you’ve got some running, and some writing about running, but not much life. I’m hoping to change that over the next 30 days. It may not all be pretty, it may not all be eloquent, but I’m doing it.

I bought two books today – both of which I hope to be thought provoking. One just for fun, and one dedicated to this challenge.

1801207_10101079159697517_7796752740839321741_o

The titles, for those of you who can’t see them, are “Einstein & the Art of Mindful Cycling” and “Now Write! Fiction Writing Exercises From Today’s Best Writers & Teachers”

So here I am, I’m putting it out there. I’m excited. I’m scared. I’m ready. Let’s go.

Day one. Done.

One thought on “A 30 day Challenge

Leave a Reply

