One week! And my why.

For those of you who haven’t been following, we are one week away from our trip to Marquette! Which means one week away from the Marquette Marathon Expo, and 8 days from marathon time! YIKES! I’ve had a lot of trouble getting runs in lately, struggling between two jobs and holding down the fort (aka the Land household). I am not a early riser any longer, which is something I feel I need to work on. But anyway, that’s down the road, for now. Taper time has been fun, relaxing, and full of shorter, easier runs. Tomorrow I will run my final longer run before the marathon itself, a distance of only 8 miles. Only! If you told me I’d be saying that two years go, I’d have called you nuts.

But there are so many reasons why I keep doing this. Why I focus so hard on what I am doing and where I am going (and try not to focus on the past, or where I’ve been, except to look forward).

This comes from an e-mail I sent to my running group this past week:

As we start to get into much higher mileage this week and in the coming weeks, I always like to ask myself why? Why the heck am I doing this? Why do I get up at the crack of dawn on a Saturday, crawl out of my comfy bed, and go run obscene mileage when it is always easier just to stay in bed and ignore that alarm? Getting up on Saturday, usually before everyone else in the world is awake can be difficult. So over the past couple of years of doing this, I have had to come up with a why.
 
And here it is:
I do this for fun. I do get a certain type of joy out of completing a long run, running a new distance, or completing miles that most people (my husband and the rest of my family included) consider crazy. I run because I love the feeling of flying, and of using my body, my muscles, to accomplish something. And it’s not just a physical accomplishment, either. It’s mental as well. I do it for the sense of achievement I get from doing something that many would never consider doing. I do it for health, and for fitness, and to some extent, vanity. I run because I love good food, and because I don’t like feeling like a Sloth, a Slug, or a Blerch (See also: http://theoatmeal.com/comics/running). I run because I need to, because I want to, and because I can. I would go crazy without running.
 
But most of all, I am out there running for all of you, and because of you. I don’t know if you all realize just how motivating you all are to me and to others around you. And for that, I thank you. I definitely would not be as committed to these miles without you.
 
I encourage you to think about it this week and in the coming weeks. What is your why? What possesses you to want to get out there and run? You never know. Thinking about and discussing your reasons may just help you to push a little farther, a little faster, or complete more of your schedule during the week (I know that I, and some others sometimes struggle to get non-group runs in on weekdays).
 
So, those of you who read this, and who run, What is your why?
 
Happy Running. 
 
One thought on “One week! And my why.

Leave a Reply

