The Winter That Won’t Quit and Frosty Faces

Hibernate

We have finally reached March, but you wouldn’t know it from the looks of the outside world. I’ve been absent from this blog for a couple of weeks, which is bad of me. I will try to be better about updating. Mostly, I don’t feel that anything terribly exciting has happened in the last few weeks. Well, one thing, actually, but that’s tied to something else completely and will be a much later post on this blog (vague, I know, I’m sorry, but you’ll see!).

It’s still winter in Michigan, as evidenced by the fact that it is, indeed, still snowing and freezing cold. I think that if I never hear the words “Polar Vortex” again it will be too soon. I’ve been doing a lot of training for upcoming events lately, and that’s about the only thing that has been happening aside from work. In Michigan at this time of year, it’s either run on a dreadmill, or suck it up and hit the snow covered streets. This morning was one of those “suck it up and deal” types of mornings. Eleven miles on the slick, snow covered roads was not ideal. It was one of those sliding with every step, snow building up on the bottoms of your shoes, dodging snow plows types of runs. But, it’s another one in the books, and I am glad to have gotten the miles in.

I am lucky enough to be a part of a magnificent group of people who train through a local running store. I am one of a few team leaders for this group. I help to keep the attendees motivated to run and to guide them through runs, but they also help to keep me motivated to show up and get it done. So far it’s been a fun season, and yes, it’s been very much full of snow, and I have been very much in need of motivation. I don’t think I’d do half of what I’m doing without them.

I think that’s it for now. I will leave you with some friendly, frosty faces. A frequent product of the difficult, bitter winter we have been experiencing. These are members of the group I am a part of who were willing to let me photograph them post-run. Enjoy!

Frosty1 Frosty2 Frosty3Frosty4

Leave a Reply

